Picture of a hospital pharmacy

The success of NRP 72 depends on a number of actors from research and the administration.

​The Steering Committee is responsible for running the programme - from selecting projects to producing a synthesis of the programme.

The programme manager and the president of the Steering Committee are responsible for the operational management. The head of knowledge transfer is responsible for the communication of the research results to target audiences. The representatives of relevant federal offices work with the Steering Committee and communicate results to the administration.

The Programmes division of the National Research Council is ultimately responsible for the NRP. The delegate of the Research Council acts as a link between the Research Council and the Steering Committee.

Steering Committee Members:

  • Professor Christoph Dehio, Biozentrum University of Basel (President)
  • Professor Frank Møller Aarestrup, National Food Institute, Technical University of Denmark, Lyngby, Denmark
  • Professor Joachim Frey, Institute of Veterinary Bacteriology, Vetsuisse Faculty, University of Bern, Bern
  • Professor Peter Frey, Institute of Bioengineering, EPFL
  • Professor Petra Gastmeier, Institut für Hygiene und Umweltmedizin, Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Germany
  • Professor Herman Goossens, Laboratories of Clinical and Medical Microbiology, University of Antwerp, Belgium
  • Professor Susanne Häußler, Abteilung Molekulare Bakteriologie, Helmholtz-Zentrum für Infektionsforschung, Braunschweig, Germany
  • Professor José L. Martinez, Departamento de Biotecnologia Microbiana, Centro Nacional de Biotecnologia, Madrid, Spain
  • Professor Dik Mevius, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Utrecht University, Wageningen Bioveterinary Research Lelystad, The Netherlands (from March 2017)
  • Dr Malcolm G. P. Page, Malcolm Page GmbH, Basel
  • Professor Mathias Pletz, Zentrum für Infektionsmedizin und Krankenhaushygiene, Universitätsklinikum Jena, Germany (from May 2017)
  • Professor Jesús Rodríguez Baño, Universidad de Sevilla, Hospital Universitario Virgen Macarena, Spain (until May 2017)

Delegate of Division IV of the National Research Council:

  • Professor Isabelle Mansuy, Brain Research Institute, Laboratory of Neuroepigenetics, University/ETH Zurich

Representative of the Swiss Federal Administration:

  • Karin Wäfler, Project Leader of StAR, Federal Office of Public Health, Bern

Programme Manager:

  • Dr Barbara Flückiger Schwarzenbach, SNSF, Bern

Head of Knowledge Transfer:

  • Stéphane Praz

Further information on this content